Day 1: Prochain arrêt Paris?

The day has finally come! Jetting off to Europe to celebrate my 30th birthday. Turning 30 was pretty scary for me, I’ve been anticipating my “champagne” birthday for a long time. It always seemed like such a far distance and to have actually arrived, was a little shocking to say the least.

Anyone who knows me, knows that I’ve wanted to go to Paris since I was “knee high from a grasshopper” (I’m taking a page out of Cody’s book, he thinks that these are common sayings, I keep telling him they are in fact, not).

Is this what 30 is like?

Anyway, as I was saying, I’ve dreamt about going to Paris since I was a little girl, I’m pretty sure the inspiration came from the book Madeline. She was so fancy in her fancy hats and I wanted to be just like her.

So off we go! Fancy romper on and ready to fly in comfort (& style obviously).

First stop, Halifax.

Arriving in Halifax was beautiful, we were pretty much on a high..because Europe is NEXT. (Eeeek!)

So, Cody and I (perhaps it’s just me, who knows) have had the worst luck when it comes to flights. Delays after delays is a common occurrence for us.

Today the weather was incredible clear skies, warm, light wind and no delays…Or so we thought…

Patiently awaiting our flight from Halifax to Paris..

Waiting…

Waiting..

Then, the heartbreak..

“I’m sorry, your flight has been cancelled”

Ouch.

“We are working on getting you a flight out, TOMORROW EVENING”

Double ouch.

“Not going to lie, the hotel situation sucks here in Halifax…there’s not much available at this point”

Triple ouch.

Okkkk. So stuck in Halifax, no hotel, next flight is in 24 hours. I guess we’re sleeping in the airport.

We just have to roll with it.

Ever heard of Truro, Nova Scotia? No? Us either! 🤷🏼‍♀️

Thankfully our airline had worked on a block of hotels and we were able to get one 45 mins away from the airport, in Truro.

Despite the sh*t show of a journey, I must admit, they really stepped up by giving us food vouchers, taxi chits and thankfully a place to sleep.

Not quite where we expected to wake up this morning.. but hey, now we can say we’ve seen Truro, Nova Scotia AND the Halifax airport at different times of the day.

Yes, I slept in my romper it brings me comfort, yes, that is us on an hour and a half sleep in 24 hours.

Life isn’t life without unplanned complications and adventures..

Let’s see what day 2 brings.

Despite all of this, I’m still so grateful to be able to travel and look forward to our arrival to Paris!

Hands, out 👏🏼

Leave a comment